top of page
Jacob Newman

Meet The Player: Book 1

Meet the Player

In our first installment of “Meet the Player”, I interviewed Ashton Chevalier from The Hawks. Ashton is 16 years old from Swanton VT. We talk about his role models and his struggles that have made him the PLAYER that he is today.

When did you start to play basketball?

I started to play basketball as long as I can remember as my dad showed me the love for the game.

Favorite NBA team? Player?

My favorite NBA team has always been the Celtics. My favorite player ever is easily Kobe as I used to watch him and my basketball number has always been 24 because of him. Currently as a Celtics fan my favorite player is Tatum.

What do you think are your best skills on the court?

I think my best skills on the court are my ability to see the court as a big player and not a point guard. I also believe I have a good way of using that knowledge and vision of the game to allow people to get open. I also have always had the natural footwork which allows my post moves to work.

You had previously torn your ACL. Tell me about that time in your life and that recovery process?

I tore my ACL on July, 5th 2020 on the first scrimmage of the year for soccer. I had previously gone through a weight loss journey losing 34 lbs putting me in the best shape I had ever been in. This made the news that I would be out for 9-12 months heartbreaking as I was going to be able to showcase my new skills and ability to move unlike I had previously been able too. The recovery process has been long and difficult but I take it one day at a time pushing to get fully recovered in time to be able to finish out my senior year for soccer and basketball. As well as play in the summer league. I am working to get back to where I was last summer.

What are you looking forward to in the summer basketball league?

I am looking forward to the summer league for many reasons, the main reason that sticks out is the fact it will be my first time getting back in that environment of playing in a competitive setting. I am looking forward to having fun and getting a stance on where I am as a player.


Thank you so much Ashton for taking the time to answer my questions! If anyone would like to be interviewed for the SBL Facebook page, feel free to email me at JMNewman22@aol.com or Landon Potvin at landonpotvin123@gmail.com



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page